Blondes Chew More Gum 2xLP

by The Lost Domain

  • Record/Vinyl

    ships out within 2 days

      $30 AUD or more 




NGL020, Limited to 500 copies

Staggering and timely reissue of a 1995 cassette from this legendary Australian underground free rock group (back then known as The Invisible Empire) that oughta re-write goddamn history. The Lost Domain were and are one of Australia’s best kept secrets, the centre of gravity for a whole scene, with a revolving membership that has at one time featured a buncha key underground players – Leighton Craig, Eugene Carchesio, Ian Wadley – and who re-wrote the free rock manifesto as radically as The Dead C. Indeed, The Dead C might be their nearest bed-fellows. Blondes Chew More Gum features a six-piece line-up, with the core of guitarist David MacKinnon and guitarist/vocalist/mandolin player/organist Simon Ellaby joined by Greg Hilleard on guitar/FX and vocals and the ‘drum orchestra’ of Dina Bojic, Bettina Graham and Ian Wadley. The drums dunt all over the place, now beating doomy cultic tattoos, now staggering through endless repeat guitar breakdowns like wounded soldiers, now raising the skies like the Ya Ho Wha Orchestra. The guitar playing is ferociously minimal, working weaves of frazzled steel into hypnotic registers that spill over into euphoric repeats while the vocals mix dying cross-eyed hillbillyisms with Michael Morley does “Sister Ray”. Indeed, the ghost of The Velvets flits throughout this massive double set, particularly the kinda atonal squeal of “Black Angel’s Death Song” but it’s perhaps more accurate to say that they build on the kinda furthered VU sound of units like Vibracathedral Orchestra, combining amplifier worship with DIY ritual and an approach to The Blues that emphasises its potential for musical freedom as much as Harry Pussy. But really, as Jon Dale puts it in his eloquent sleeve notes, “Blondes Chew More Gum fucking ROCKS.” This release turns alla your contemporary rock histories on its head. Singular, bloody-minded in its pursuit of the zone, massively psychedelic destructo rock of the kind only the Southern Hemisphere can deliver. Comes in a gatefold sleeve with liners, snaps and fliers. Highly recommended! (Tip of the Tongue - Volcanic Tongue)

NGL's 20th release is one we could hardly be more humbled by. Originally recorded in 1995 and seeing vinyl here for the first time- as it were always intended- 'Blondes...' is arguably the Lost Domain's first masterpiece and surely represents the group's creative zenith. The record might appeal to fans of Jandek or the People With Chairs Up their Noses, not specifically in sound, but in the skewered approach and unhinged intent. Three drummers forge a tribal, ''free'' landscape, grounded by Simon Ellaby's (AKA Ragtime Frank) vocals and the virtuous guitar work of Papa Lord God & spiritual group leader Dave MacKinnon. What results is one of the finest rock'n'roll records ever cut in Brisbane, Australia, and we are honored to be a part of Dave and the Lost Domain's redemption. 2 LP's housed in deluxe full color gatefold sleeve. Mastered by Matt Earle (XNoBBQX, Breakdance the Dawn, Meat Thump). - Brendon Annesley/Negative Guest List


released August 10, 2012

The Lost Domain is:

David Mac Kinnon: Guitar/Aeolian Bastard
Simon Ellaby: Vocals/Guitar/Mandolin and Organ
Greg Hilleard: Guitar/Effects and Vocals
Dina Bojic - Drums and Cow Bell
Bettina Graham - Drums/Percussion
Ian Wadley: Drums/Cymbals

"All tracks, words and music by The Invisible Empire/The Lost Domain, written in the moment." - The Lost Domain



all rights reserved


Negative Guest List Records Brisbane, Australia

Brisbane bases Record Label created by the late great Brendon Annesley a.k.a B.A. and Marriah Geles (CEO and Co-Founder).

contact / help

Contact Negative Guest List Records

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns